PCB Libraries Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > General > General Discussion
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

History of PADS

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
New User
New User

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cliff Harris Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: History of PADS
    Posted: 17 Dec 2012 at 2:23pm
I have been using PADS for about 10 years at various companies.  My current boss is using an ancient version (I think it's called Perform) that runs in DOS. He has had this program since the '80s and is very proficient. He says he doesn't want to pay $thousands$ to upgrade for an incremental increase in productivity.

Anyhow, he said back in the '80s he was dealing with the PADS folks on the East Coast.

This conflicts with what I was told at my last job. My boss there said he knew the original PADS programmers who he said were located in Newport Beach, CA. Maybe they moved...?

So I went to the Internet to resolve this issue and the first place I looked was Wikipedia. If you type in "PADS" (all uppercase) it just gives you a link to the Mentor Graphics Wikipedia page.

My questions: is there a history of PADS somewhere on the Internet? If not, could somebody create a Wikipedia page to get the history started? I figure this is the best place for this.

I'm just curious about the history of PADS and would like to know how it developed. I think others would also be interested in this.
Tom H View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tom H Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Dec 2012 at 6:10pm
Here is a small snipit to start putting the pieces together.

I know that PADS was created by Gene Marsh and his son who graduated college and they lived outside New York city. PADS was first released in 1985 in DOS OS and sold for $495 per seat.